Mallrat Teams Up with Azealia Banks for Newest Single ‘Surprise Me’

GLOBAL NEWS—Australian singer and rapper Mallrat releases her newest single “Surprise Me feat. Azealia Banks,” lifted from her forthcoming debut album Butterfly Blue out 13 May via Dew Process.

The stars aligned for the prized pop songwriter when after crafting the track with producers Jam City and Stylaz Feugo, Banks not only supplied the unforgettable verse, but also decided she and Mallrat “should Eve and Gwen Stefani this shit”, sticking around for the outro. Premiering tonight on triple j, ‘Surprise Me feat. Azealia Banks’ will be available everywhere on all platforms from 7PM AEST, listen HERE.

Official art courtesy of Dew Process

Of the release, Mallrat shares: “It’s so true that the music you listen to when you’re little really shapes you. Or at least it hangs out in your subconscious for a very long time. The first album I ever bought with my own money was ‘Broke With Expensive Taste’. Azealia Banks was truly the best to work with. It felt like she really cared, which you don’t always get with feature artists; often it can feel like they’re fulfilling an obligation. Maybe I’m biased, but hers is one of the most iconic and memorable verses I’ve ever heard.”

Check out the visualizer:

Before she collaborated with one of her idols, Mallrat made a triumphant return with the release of the dreamy indie rock cut ‘Rockstar’. The song kicked off a thrilling new era for the multi-talented creative and she’s continued to live up to the hype sharing two other singles from her hotly anticipated debut album: the defiant ‘Your Love’, which highlighted her newfound confidence as a producer and artist, and most recently, the dark and distorted ‘Teeth’. Today, she also shares the full track listing for Butterfly Blue, see below and pre-order HERE.

Mallrat’s debut record Butterfly Blue solidifies her reputation as a master of clever, timeless pop. Sweeping across vast, airy productions are often surprising samples and sounds: chopped-up Gangsta Pat bars, a flipped recording of a children’s choir performing Lisztomania and distorted effects recorded from discarded children’s toys. Layered, like an instrument all their own, are her signature breathy vocals, more assured and confident than ever before. It’s Mallrat 2.0 – an intoxicating collection set to launch Australia’s pop princess into the stratosphere.

Album pre-order packages including vinyl, custom handcrafted limited edition Butterfly Blue jewelry, and a Butterfly Blue capsule of hoodies, tees and caps are available at


  1. Wish On An Eyelash
  2. To You
  3. Surprise Me feat. Azealia Banks
  4. Your Love
  5. Heart Guitar
  6. Teeth
  7. Rockstar
  8. I’m Not My Body, It’s Mine
  9. Obsessed
  10. Arm’s Length
  11. Butterfly Blue
  12. Fade Into You

Listen to Surprise Me: