Catch Ten City’s Newest Album ‘Love is Love’ in Celebrating Black History Month

GLOBAL NEWS—The discography of the house band Ten City is evidence that disco survived and even flourished. Set apart most obviously by singer Byron Stingily, a powerhouse falsetto between and distinct from inspirations such as Philip Bailey and Sylvester, the Chicago group’s recordings are the epitome of deep house with a gospel and soul foundation, messages of love, and positivity. 

Teamed with dance music pioneer Marshall Jefferson, the biggest hits “Right Back to You” and “That’s the Way Love Is, the latter of which peaked at number one on Billboard’s dance/club chart and cracked the UK pop chart’s Top Ten, helped Ten City break out in the late 1980s.

Image courtesy of Helix Records

The group’s original trio incarnation, which ranged from Foundation (1989) to That Was Then, This Is Now (1994), recorded four albums and peaked with seven further singles before splitting up in the mid-’90s.

Judgment (2021), produced by Stingily and Jefferson, marked Ten City’s comeback almost three decades later. In 2022, it received a GRAMMY nomination for “Best Electronic/Dance Album.” Owing to popular demand and the feel-good vibe generated during the recording of Judgement, Ten City are back in 2023 with Love Is Love on Helix Records.

Image courtesy of Helix Records

“2023 is the year of Loving Self and Self Affirmation!” declares Byron Stingily.  These themes are prominent throughout the album.  Just check out the singles such as the title track and its remix by fellow Chicago house artists DRAMA, and “I Love Me, a collaboration with bubbling UK producers Wh0.


  1. Love is Love
  2. All In One Night
  3. Losing My Mind
  4. Strange Times
  5. Casual
  6. A Girl Named Phil
  7. I Love Me w/ Wh0
  8. Magic
  9. Family
  10. Woman of the Sun