Join the Festivities at This Year’s Edition of Gawad Alternatibo in Cinemalaya with Screenings, Talkbacks, and More

MANILA, Philippines — Alongside the festivities and lineup for Cinemalaya, the Ika-33 Gawad CCP Para sa Alternatibong Pelikula at Video, or Gawad Alternatibo (for short), will showcase this year’s finalists as it continues to stream online via the CCP Vimeo Channel and the Gawad Alternatibo website, while the talkbacks and livestream events will be held at Facebook Live, from August 6 to September 5, 2021.

This edition of the Gawad Alternatibo film festival and competition with the theme ALPAS: ‘Kwento Natin ‘To opens with the premiere of TATLONG DEKADA, a video compilation on and about Gawad Alternatibo and its filmmakers, produced by Cinema Regla and the Gawad Alternatibo production team.  This year’s theme “conveys the perseverance of the film community and the audience in their attempt of breaking free from the constraints of the pandemic, by surfacing, claiming and embracing our very own narratives.  It is only by doing so that filmmakers and audiences find their strength in weathering any storm that comes by.”

Gawad Alternatibo, Image courtesy of Cultural Center of the Philippines

On its 33rd year of annually citing the country’s most outstanding film and video artists, the Gawad Alternatibo continues to recognize the best efforts of Filipino filmmakers in four (4) categories – Animation, Experimental, Documentary and Short Feature.

Follow the lines, the hues, and step into the world of these selections of finalists in the Animation Category:

Homeby Bryan Kent Abias; Haraya by Kem Jaspher D. Abayon; Langit Lupa by Cha Roque; My Mamily by Cha Roque; Iamannika by Dan Verzosa; Flush by Roland Cartagena; Ma, by Dexter Paul de Jesus; Last Piece by Gaspar T. Dela Cruz III, Andrea Mae Kristine C. Bonagua, Anthony P. Santiago; and Basurahan by Maki Liwanag.

Discover a world of oddity and extraordinary that defies norm and form presented through the lenses of these filmmakers in the Experimental Category:

Set A: Malikmata by Rianne Hill Soriano; Tungkol Kay Sikat by Carlo Paulo Pacolor; Decalcomania by Hannah Tabaquero Ragudos; Elehiya Sa Manlilikha Ng Mga Lila by Jonar Johnson; Hugas Kamay (Washing of Hands) by Vahn Leinard C. Pascual; Kawing Sa Samapayan Ng Tagapagtanggap by Sophie Casasola and Lilian Marie Gomes; Mga Bag-ong Nawong Sang Damgo Kag Katingalahanby Mark Raymund L. Garcia; Ñawa, Mauli-uli Na by Joi Villablanca.

Set B: In Search Of by Joseph Dominic Cruz; Signals by Jose Carlos Soliongco; Somewhere A Destination by Celeste Lapida; Transit Tyranny by Jonathan Jose Zamora Olarte; Ang Mga Damgo Para Lang Sa Nagakatulog (Dreams Are For Those Who Do Not Sleep) by Richard D. Olano Jr.; Pekyu by Kristine Cerva; Every Time The Sun Comes Up by Gabriel Grenan T. Carmelo.

Set C: [K]ahon by Jaime Pacena II; Let Our Response Be by Ruka Azuma; Torn by Timmy Harn; The Earth Is Not The World by Gio Lingao; Naglipana Ang Mga Mata by Jael Mendoza.

Set D: Salom by Massah Gonzales–Gamboa; Ouroboros by Jonar Johnson; As If I’m Dreaming When Everyone Else is Living by Mario Cabus; Dagiti Tallo A Virgen by Melver Ritz L. Gomez; Stating the Obvious by Anton Guiller R. Nartea.

Go in a journey that witness the works of these filmmakers as they set down and record the realities of life in the Documentary Category:

Set A: Mga Gipaambit Gikan Sa Tubig (Whispers from the Waters Of Mindanao) by Anna Miguel Cervantes; Maliliit na Hakbang by Richard Soriano Legaspi; So Masa O Paniyakit by Hassanodden Hosni Macote Hashim; Kambalingan by Terence Giourdan Gonzalves; Blue Is Not My Favorite Color by Vahn Leinard C. Pascual; Isang Gabing Walang Pasko by Jermaine Tulbo; Ilaw ng Tahanan by Jerome Avanzado.

Set B: Panambi by Jane Mariane Biyo, Katya Marie Corazon Puertollano, Myra Angeline Soriaso; Iyallatiw by Melver Ritz L. Gomez; Pakisabi by Lyshiel Aranal; Palong by Kim Angela A. Santos, Christian Aquino; Si Baby At Si Jayvee by Kenneth Peterson F. Leviste; Pisapugan by Khalil Salih Verzosa.

Behold these stories with different narratives as told by exceptional storytellers in the Short Feature Category:

Set A: Bangungot by Moses Webb; Sa Pagpula Sang Lawod (When The Ocean Bleeds) by Kenneth De la Cruz; Deng Residenti Quing Bunduk (Mountain Residents) by EJ Gagui; Gutab by Mary Andrea Palmares; Lagalag by John Nehemiah Lopez; Laot by John Lester Rimorin; Tanda ng Pagtanaw by Aireen Justine D. Remoto.

Set B: Mundong Walang Katiyakan by Vahn Leinard C. Pascual; Here Not Here by Mariah Vianca Quinesio; Nanay, Nanay, Gusto Ko Siya by Nicca Patricia D. Marcelino; The Girl From Nowhere by Flory Ann Tacuban; Waltz of Qualm by Francisco L. Tavas III; Camille Alone by Kaya Guillen.

Set C: Ang Dala ng Kawalan by John Kurt Vincent R. Santos; Manyaok by Kate Villanueva; Pig’s Game by CM Bautista; Issa Prank by Louangel Jei D. Benjamin; Hilum by Don Josephus Raphael Eblahan; Apol by James Andrew B. Bueno; Ang Pagsalop Sang Adlaw (The Immersion of the Sun) by Kent John D. Desamparado.

Also featured are exhibition films under the Curated Section, a cut-above-the-rest selection of entries from this year’s submissions:

Set A: Atmosphere by Yuki Okazawa; Pasahero by Pat Kay Laudencia; Ritmo ng Palahaw by Ronaldo S. Vivo, Jr.; Dalaginding Na Si Isang by Kristinne Nigel C. Santos; Gabby by Joanna Vasquez Arong.

Set B: Post Lulong by Szackobe Kabro Zaballero-Sanchez; Kahon by Ivan Cortez; Lamon Babae by Shaun Ocrisma, Danilo Vaquilar; Naraniag A Bulan by Mike Cabarles; Walang Katapusang Hurno by Glenn Barit.

Set C: D.P.N.N.L. (Dapal Pala Nuno Na Lang) by Angelo P. Gillo; Balai by Klarisse J. Purugganan; Mina’s Family History by Christopher Gozum; Kahilwáyan (Freedom)by Sweet Hearty Ligas Puyong.

Set D: Takway Ni Nanay Tungo Sa Tagumpay by Raymark Esteban Estael; Judith by Junmarl Alconga; Game Over by Carl Angelo Ruiz; Super-able by Arjanmar H. Rebeta; Malayo Sa Ngayon by Jermaine Tulbo.

The Emergent Media Section features artworks that go beyond the confines of traditional media and the physical world, into the digital realm:

Collective Experiences 2.0 by Miggy Inumerable; I Began To Die And I Began To Grow by Julius Redillas; Doon (AR/VR Project) by Issay Rodriguez; Currents VR Exhibit by Dayoung Ko.

This year, Gawad Alternatibo offers VIDEO EXPERIMENTATIONS featuring the Philippine High School for the Arts (PHSA) alumni and student works:

Special one-time screening of Magpakailanman and Pelikula by Raymond Red.

Works of Creative Writing majors-Visiting Hours by Danielle Castillo, Sa Araw-Araw na Ginawa Ng Diyos by Bea Rabe; Visual Arts-PHSA (animation) by Tristan Paul C. Guinid; Omnibus works on theater-video experiments by PHSA Theater Arts majors.

Dance films: Tago(s) by Krislynne Buri; Memoire by Jovit Diño; Drenched In Thought by Jon Ferrer; Clowning Around by Mars Quejada; Pepe by Carlo Señeres; Of Venus by Reanne Nicole Tangalin; Bugso: Dayog sa Saliw ng Damdaming Sumisiklab by PHSA Sanghiyas Pangkat Mananayaw & UST Salinggawi Dance Troupe.

Established in 1987, the Gawad Alternatibo is considered the longest-running independent film and video competition of its kind in Asia.  It is one of the main components of the 17th Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival, which also runs from August 6 to September 5, 2021.  The Gawad Awarding ceremony will be held on September 4 (Saturday), 2021 at 2:00 p.m. via the CCP Vimeo Channel and Facebook Live.

To know more about Gawad Alternatibo, visit and  Follow the official CCP and Cinemalaya social media accounts on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for updates on the Cinemalaya Film Festival screening schedules and other offerings.  Visit the CCP website ( for more information.