Michelle Yeoh is Set to Reprise Her Role in ‘Star Trek: Section 31’ on Paramount+

GLOBAL NEWSParamount+ has just announced the official green light for Star Trek: Section 31 featuring Oscar-winning actress Michelle Yeoh reprising her role as Emperor Phillipa Georgiou.

The special original movie event, produced by CBS Studios, will follow Georgiou as she joins a secret division of Starfleet tasked with protecting the United Federation of Planets while facing the consequences of her past. Production is reported to begin later this year.

Photo courtesy Paramount+

Yeoh expressed her excitement to return to her Star Trek family and the character she loves, while executive producer Alex Kurtzman credited Yeoh’s idea to do a spin-off of her character even before the first season of “STAR TREK: DISCOVERY” aired in 2017.

“She broke new ground as one of the first two women on screen in the pilot to usher in a new age of Trek, and now, six years later, STAR TREK: SECTION 31 finally arrives on the heels of her latest groundbreaking win. Everyone on Team Trek couldn’t be more thrilled to have our legendary friend return home to us as we expand our storytelling into new and uncharted corners of the Trekverse. Long Live Emperor Georgiou, Long Live Michelle Yeoh!” said Kurtzman.

Photo courtesy Paramount+.

The masterminds behind the film are thrilled to welcome back Yeoh to the family for “STAR TREK: SECTION 31” as her portrayal of Emperor Georgiou was a fan favorite and her return is highly anticipated. David Stapf, President of CBS Studios, is excited to join forces with Yeoh again as we continue to explore the Star Trek universe and chart a course for its future.

“Her powerful performance as Captain and Emperor Georgiou was not only a pivotal moment for the return of the franchise, but her portrayal resonated with fans around the world in a multitude of ways.” Staph expressed.

The upcoming original movie event “STAR TREK: SECTION 31” is written by Craig Sweeny and directed by Olatunde Osunsanmi. The executive producers include Alex Kurtzman, Craig Sweeny, Aaron Baiers, Olatunde Osunsanmi, Frank Siracusa, John Weber, Rod Roddenberry, Trevor Roth, and Michelle Yeoh, with CBS Studios producing in association with Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment.